Office of Communications

The office manages many aspects of communications for R U-N, including the core website, media relations, publications, selected special events  and community engagement projects. Members of our staff work collaboratively with other campus administrators and faculty members to advance R U-N’s excellence in teaching, research and service. Our portfolio includes the following:

Web Communications and Social Media

  • Oversight, development and maintenance of R U-N's core website, www.newark.rutgers.edu.
  • Consultation and training for R U-N schools and departments in best practices and project management for web communications
  • Social media connections for faculty, staff, alumni and friends.

Media Relations

  • We work with media representatives from local, national and international media outlets to promote R U-N teaching, research and service excellence. (Newscenter)
  • We provide consultation and support for faculty and staff working with the media.
  • Working with the media - Tips from the Office of Communications
  • We work with Rutgers Office of Media Relations to promote the university.

Media Liaisons at Rutgers in Newark:

Helen Paxton, paxton@andromeda.rutgers.edu University affairs, Office of the Chancellor, Science topics

        

Carla Capizzi, capizzi@andromeda.rutgers.edu     Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences, Libraries

Ferlanda Fox Nixon, ferlanda@andromeda.rutgers.edu Criminal Justice, Public Affairs and Administration  
   
RUTGERS BUSINESS SCHOOL  

Susan Todd,
susan.todd@rutgers.edu

 

Daniel Stoll, dstoll@business.rutgers.edu

   
SCHOOL OF LAW-NEWARK NEWARK COLLEGE OF ARTS AND SCIENCES
Janet Donohue, jdonohue@andromeda.rutgers.edu Lawrence Lerner, lawrence.lerner@rutgers.edu

 

RUTGERS HEALTH SCIENCES CAMPUS AT NEWARK

Jeffrey Tolvin, jtolvin@rutgers.edu

Robert Forman, robert.forman@rutgers.edu

 

Publications                              

Special Projects

Resources

Consultation on approved/preferred vendors:

  • graphic designers (web and print)
  • photographers and videographers
  • writers
  • printers
  • advertising agencies
  • marketing research

Who We Are

Helen Paxton

Helen Paxton, M.A. paxton@andromeda.rutgers.edu Director of Communications

  
   
Carla CapizziCarla Capizzi, B.A. capizzi@andromeda.rutgers.edu Assistant Director of Communications:  Media Relations, Web content, publications, special projects    Nora Luongo, M.F.A. eluongo@andromeda.rutgers.edu Web Designer: Web content, design and technology, photo inquiries/permissions/usage, social media, special projects
   
Ferlanda Fox NixonFerlanda Fox Nixon, J.D. ferlanda@andromeda.rutgers.edu Public Relations Specialist: Media Relations, Web content, publications, special projects 

Jade McClain, B.A

jade.mcclain@rutgers.edu Editorial/Media Specialist

Media relations, web content, social media, publications, administrative support, special projects

 

Contact Us

Blumenthal Hall, Rm 210
249 University Avenue
Newark, NJ 07102
973 353-5262 | fax: 973 353-1050

occ@andromeda.rutgers.edu